Skip to content

Raw Energy Book Review {Book It Forward}

March 13, 2010

To be honest, going into reading this book, I knew nothing regarding “eating raw.” So, needless to say, I was intrigued by the content in this book. At first glance, Raw Energy seems to be a great raw foods cookbook, but it is much more than that. Stephanie Tourles, the author, goes into great detail regarding the benefits of a raw diet. Did you know that cooking detroys the enzymes, lecithin, much of the vitamins, and protien? This book also details the typical foods used and their benefits.

As I said before, at first glance, the books seems like a great cook book. It is amazing considering these are recipes and concepts that I would have NEVER considered making. I had never heard of any other type of milk except those that came from animals or adults. Going out on a limb, we tried Cheater’s Mexican Chocolate Almond Milk. I was pleasantly surprised. Being a lover of all things “shake,” we had to give the Creamy Banana Cocoa Shake a go. It was a great option for me since I am not doing dairy due to Baby Bird’s milk allergy. Bean and the hubby enjoyed it, which are two of the world of cookings most critical judges. Other recipes we have tried and enjoyed, include Summer Breeze Smoothie, Banana-Cholcolate Chip Frozen Fruit Cream, Strawberry-Citrus Frozen Fruit Cream, and Apple Ginger Ale.

The only downside for me personally when reading the book is the ingredients involved in many of these recipes. Like I said, we’ve never done raw food eating (other than just eating a plain fruit or veggie) so I had to do quite a few trips to the store to get items that aren’t present in my cupboard. I am looking forward to many of these refreshing recipes in the summer.

Great chapters in the book include:

  • Raw Snack Basics
  • Raw Snack Pantry & Equipments Essentials
  • Raw Snack Prep 101
  • Super-Satisfying Milk, Shakes, Smoothies, & Frozen Fruit Creams
  • Fit & Fabulous Fruit & Vegetable Juices
  • The Snacks that Keep You Going: Energizer Bars, Balls, & Bites
  • Powerhouse Nut, Seed, & Fruit Blends
  • Raw Cereals & Delectable Fruit Parfaits
  • Vegetable Jolt: Crispy Chips, Zippy Dips, & Scrumptious Spreads
  • Chillin’: Fresh, Cold Fruit & Vegetable Soups
  • Raw Confections: No-Guilt, Nutrient-Packed Candy & Cookies

You can purchase Raw Energy from Storey Publishing for $16.95.

Book It Forward: I would love to share this great book with one of my readers in something I’m calling “Book It Forward.” If you are interested in reading and trying out this book, please leave a comment below. On 3/20/10 at 11:59 pm EST, I will choose someone via Random.Org to receive Raw Energy. What is the catch? Really, none. If you wish to continue “Book It Forward” with this book, just sign the inside of the book cover and give it to another deserving soul. I’m sort of curious to see how far can a book be passed without the library system. Call it a little experiment.

Disclosure: I was provided this book for review purposes from Mama Buzz and Storey Publishing. The opinions I have given are mine and may differ from others but were not influenced by the company or the free product provided.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2010 1:41 pm

    I might have to look for that book. I have been really trying to cook healthier, and try new recipes.

    Happy SITS Day! =o)

  2. tspoon permalink
    March 13, 2010 9:40 pm

    Iv’e actually been trying the raw diet for about a month now. It’s amazing. It’s a new perspective. It takes a little to get used get used to, but I am loving to effects so far it has had overall on my health.

  3. Andrea permalink
    March 17, 2010 10:30 pm

    I knew you gave up cow’s milk but I didn’t know you gave up all milks. There’s soy, coconut, almond, rice, a whole aisle of them… almond milk is so good! And Very Vanilla Silk. What were you using instead? Like in recipes or on cereal?
    There’s also wonderful soy ice cream- temptations ice cream (www.welovesoy.com). Have you not had ice cream for a year too? Did you just cut down on drinking cow’s milk or cut out all products w/ the milk in it as well? I’m surprised the doctor that told you about the allergy didn’t give you alternatives, especially for calcium.
    I would love some new recipes from this book. It sounds like stuff I can actually have.

Leave a Reply

