Skip to content

Writer’s Workshop: My Attempt at a Haiku

March 11, 2010

Mama Kat’s Losin’ It

Write a Haiku that describes what you love about an ordinary day

Honestly, I usually choose a prompt that is easy for me to do.  This week I decided to do something that is much more of a stretch.  I can’t remember the last time I wrote a Haiku other than Girl Scouts when I was trying to get a badge.  Boy did I wish I still had my book so I could share with you my mad Haiku skills.  This time, I had to call up my dear friend, Google, for some pointers.  When I say pointers, I mean, a total how to.  Sadly, the best Haiku advice I got was from KidZone.com.  What does that tell you when it comes to my poetry writing level?  Can we say, DUH?    So here we go.  No laughs.

:Family:

Endless questions why.

Excitement.  Door opens near six.

Toothless grin goodnight.

I’m a poet and don’t didn’t even know it.  Didn’t say I was a good one, but now I’m published.  Online.  You know that I’ll be getting some calls for book deals now because it was that good.  LOL.  Seriously, great to branch out and try something different and definitely harder than my typical sarcasm.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 2:46 pm

    I think that it is great that you even tried to do a Haiku!

    After reading Dr. Seuss, I always find myself rhyming. Once my daughter and I said that all day we would just try to rhyme. We made it to noon!

  2. tspoon permalink
    March 11, 2010 8:56 pm

    You must try this just once. My friends and I spent and entire weekend just texting Haikus back and forth to each other. At first- we sucked. Like really reallllllly bad.

    But.

    By, Sunday evening, we not only had mad skillz (yes, that is with a “z” we were that good), we were actually pretty freaking hysterical at them. Find a friend or two who will agree to spend a weekend with you and try it. Agree to do it from Saturday and Sunday, like 10A to 7P. Once an hour. Sounds harder than it is.

    Either that or my friends and I are just really super big nerds. I’m ok with that. LOL

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      March 12, 2010 12:58 am

      Funny. I might have to see if any of my friends are smart enough to haiku. The hubby is but he won’t text with me.

  3. March 11, 2010 10:30 pm

    I should have went with the Haiku this week. I like yours. Tootless grin! Cute!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      March 12, 2010 12:57 am

      For a second, I thought I actually wrote tootless grin. Had to double check. You had me worried. The Haiku was a stretch but I figured it was a great “learning” opportunity from the writers workshop.

  4. March 11, 2010 11:14 pm

    I am now following your blog from a late Friday Follow. This is a neat and chic blog, I will be reading up more. You can also follow me at http://www.safehomehappymom.com i’m sure you will like it too.

    Blessing @ Safe Home Happy Mom

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      March 12, 2010 12:55 am

      Thanks! I love web design and I started tweeking it the other day. Just finished my new header. I’m off to visit your blog 🙂

  5. lizgizzy permalink
    March 12, 2010 12:16 am

    Hear Hear! I didn’t want to be in my comfort zone this week either. Congrats on your haiku!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      March 12, 2010 12:56 am

      I have to say it was hard yet fun!

Leave a Reply

