Skip to content

She Was Wearing Her “Fast Shoes”

March 3, 2010

Monday night, Bean insisted on wearing her brown gym shoes, her fast shoes.  Tuesday we gym day at school.

Tuesday morning, Bean is sporting her “fast shoes” and off to school she goes.

Fast forward to about 12:45, I’m putting Baby Bird down for her nap; she’ s being a bit of a devil and it takes me about 15 minutes.  I feel my cell phone vibrate (ring) for the second time; I look at the phone.  I know that number.  It’s Bean’s school.

First thoughts, please Lord, don’t be calling to tell me she has the stomach bug going around school.  I listen to my voicemail.  “Hi Mrs. TickledPinkTwice.  Don’t worry too much.  Bean fell on recess.  There are no broken bones or a need for stictches.  Please call me back.”

I’m calling her back as I’m trying to located a bra and some jeans.  Apprarently, Bean was running out to recess and really wiped out.  She knocked out a tooth and has a nice abrasion on her cheek.  I’m thinking, “Uh, did you say she lost a tooth?  OMG.”  Don’t panic Kay; she feeds of this sort of stuff.

I head up to school to see how my little lady is doing; thank goodness the school is about 5 houses down and through a backyard.  I was there quickly.  How sad she looked.  She lost a tooth, literally LOST the tooth; they can’t find it.  She had a raspberry and bruise on her left check and some smaller ones on the face & both knuckles.  Amazingly, she didn’t rip her jeans which is classic Bean.  With an ice pack and empty tooth necklace in tow, we head home.  We are no strangers to falls that include teeth problems when it comes to Bean.  I think this is the 5th one.  I know the drill.  Off to the dentist we go.  Here is a photo as we are on the way out the door:

These pictures don’t do the damage justice.  I’m no expert photographer but I ended up with way too much shadow.  The other front 3 teeth are really lose, especially the now semi-crooked front too next to the whole.  Her only 2 adult teeth on the bottom of her mouth were apparently “slightly” loose.  Soft food diet.  “Ugh, said Bean.”  We know the drill.

On the way home, I reminded her that she was wearing those “fast shoes.”  Guess we might only put those on for gym time and not recess.  The hubby suggested she run and fall with her mouth closed.  Personally, I’m thinking a bubble or mouth gaurd.

Here is a photo of her last fall, ironiclly, she was wearing her fast shoes this time too.  It happened during the taping of Desperate Landscapes at our house; I look forward to the end of the show because she’s going to look a bit different with that fat lip.

Fast forward to around midnight last night, I hear the bedroom door open and the splash of Bean getting sick in her doorway.  Joy.  Currently still trying to figure out if it was a stomach bug or something related to her head hitting the ground.  She really didn’t get sick much and seems like herself and hungry this morning.  I’ve got her in quarantine just in case.  I’ve got myself all worked up and smelling like Clorox Wipes and Lysol.  On a positive note, I do like Lysol’s new flavor Vanilla & Blossoms.

Wish me luck!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 1:36 pm

    Good luck! Mouth injuries scare the poo out of me! Whenever Hayden falls and hits his mouth-area, I freak out: worried that one of his teeth has come out. So your reality is a nightmare for me. I can’t even imagine. I’m glad she’s okay though… it sounds like her fast shoes may be TOO fast and dangerous… he he. But either way, she is definitely a trooper!!!

  2. March 3, 2010 3:04 pm

    Oh no! I second the previous commenter, mouth injuries are scary. G fell a few weeks ago and chipped her front teeth, and I was so thankful they were baby teeth!

    Have you ever read the book “Red Is Best”? It’s old– from when I was a kid– but reading your post about the “fast shoes” made me think of it for some reason.

    ~Elizabeth
    Confessions From A Working Mom

  3. March 3, 2010 4:00 pm

    Poor thing! I hope she’s ok.

  4. March 3, 2010 4:22 pm

    Oh My Gosh that poor little dear! Get rid of the fast shoes! Or get her into Track and Field!

    Oh and I hate it when my daughter goes to the nurse cause she always picks up something worse!

Trackbacks

  1. Tickled Pink Twice-A Crafting, Breastfeeding, Funny, Stay-At-Home Moms Blog, Advice, and Tips

Leave a Reply

