Skip to content

Daddy Daughter Day

February 20, 2010

Our community is very family oriented.  Twice a year, they do a daddy daughter dance.  Little did I know that the slots fill up so quickly.  I didn’t not drop what I was doing the day the flyer came home from school to schedule the hubby and Bean up.  So, skip ahead the day of the registration deadline (uh…6-9ish days later; I’ve been busy people with snow days, a cold, and just…eating bon bons.), I drive to our rec center to find out that the Saturday dance slot filled up the day after the flyer went home.  Friday’s dance session still had few slots but we had a work function for the hubby to attend.  Boy do I feel like a BAD mom.  Bean had been talking non-stop about wearing her best dress, doing crafts, and “getting down” with dad.  Personally, I was hoping to stop over and get this “getting down” on video.  You know it would have made some great footage for the blog.  I’m bummed.

I don’t think the hubby was quite as bummed about having to socialize or dance, but he knew Bean would be upset.  I broke it to her gently; bribed her with still a special trip out with dad.  Today was their special day.  They went to the movies to see Alvin & the Chipmunks, the Squeekual.  Bean was looking forward to having popcorn.

Apparently, they had a great time loading up on sugar.  You can see the ICEE all over Bean’s face and lips.  This is a treat because I’m the Sugar Sheriff.  They had no lunch but did have popcorn, cherry ICEE, and cinnamon/sugar pretzel from Auntie Ann’s (the hubby’s weakness along with any other sweet).  You can see that it looks like  a bomb went off in our family room in the photo to the right.  Baby Bird spent a few hours being grumpy and pulling every item out she could find.

Grumpy baby and all, I’m glad they had their time because I’m stuck spending a lot of time with the girls.  Got to go.  Our dog is mysteriously able to get out of her crate.  We are off to go set up a camera and see how she does it.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2010 11:57 pm

    love your blogroll – how tech savvy! I am impressed with wordpress. And yes, I think you are right – my husband did get the best TV deal of all of us!

  2. February 21, 2010 8:51 am

    This is so cute! I keep hinting to my hubby that he needs to start this tradition with our daughter, but he argues that she’s too young!

    Your post made me remember going to a daddy/daughter dance (sponsored by my school) when I was in 3rd grade. It was a square dance, and I just remember my dad wearing a cowboy hat for the one and only time in my life. Thanks for triggering a good memory!

    ~Elizabeth
    Confessions From A Working Mom

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 23, 2010 12:19 pm

      I so remember my 3rd grade square dance. My dad was out at sea so my grandpa took me. He was a cowboy…I laugh now from the pictures and my first “fancy” pair of cowboy boots.

  3. February 21, 2010 10:49 am

    That sounds LOVELY! I am glad they got to spend some quality time together and it sounds like they had a great time too! I hope you figure out how your dog is escaping. Sneaky puppy!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 23, 2010 12:18 pm

      Oh we did. I’m trying to get the darn video to convert so I can post on the blog.

  4. February 22, 2010 11:22 am

    Adorable! We have 3 boys and 1 girl and we try to carve out time just for Daddy and Daughter (as well as mommy and daughter… mommy and son #1, mmomy and son #2, mommy and son #3!). It’s hard, though! In fact, I took my girl and oldest boy to Alvin.. the Skweequal. It was ADORABLE!!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 23, 2010 12:17 pm

      Boys would so be a new thing for me. We joke that IF we have another, I wouldn’t know what to do if I had a boy. Even all of our pets are girls.

      Guess I’ll see the movie on family movie night when it hits DVD like all other movies.

  5. February 22, 2010 12:38 pm

    Stopping by from SITS and wishing you a great week!

  6. February 22, 2010 12:39 pm

    I think that is adorable that your little Bean wants to spend time with her dad. I am sure she will remember the fun night out with her daddy and forget that she couldn’t go to the other event. Fololwing from SITS!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 23, 2010 12:16 pm

      Especially since the birth of Baby Bird, we try to do stuff just with Bean so she feels just as special. She’s asking about the next movie with just her and dad. I’d like to see a movie some year 🙂

  7. February 22, 2010 12:43 pm

    A special date out with dad is a special date out with dad. I remember my dates like they were yesterday. My daughter did get to go a couple weeks back here in Olympia. They had a blast. Now I am gearing up for the Mother Son Palapalooza which is next weekend. So much fun!

    Stopping by from SITS…enjoy your day!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 23, 2010 12:15 pm

      Mother Son Palapalooza sounds fun!

  8. February 22, 2010 1:15 pm

    What a great idea! I wish our community had a Daddy and daughter dance. It sounds like they had a great time at the movie. I have to get my husband to maybe do something with our oldest daughter maybe once a month. Normally we just do stuff as a family but it sounds like alone time for the two of them would be a great way to strengthen their bond.

  9. February 22, 2010 4:45 pm

    Aww, that is so sweet. My dad used to do things like this with me.
    There is an award for you on my blog, check it out.

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 23, 2010 12:14 pm

      wow. thank you!

  10. February 22, 2010 5:43 pm

    Awwww! That is cute!

Leave a Reply

