Skip to content

Safety Hazard & Paranoid Parent Here

February 19, 2010

On the way to dropping Bean at school yesterday morning, I ran across some of the largest icicles I’ve ever seen.  There were a few that were in the range of 5-6 feet.  Of course, knowing that kids lack common sense, I told her not to be going an taking them down or go underneath them.  I can’t image she would have the opportunity to get into trouble with these since she doesn’t walk to and from school alone yet.  I’m not sure I will ever want her to walk alone, without me.  (*sniff sniff*)  Our temperature has just reached freezing which as caused some of the icicles and made others very large.  Phew.  Crisis averted.

Here are the icicles on the way home from school:

Believe it or not, the big ones are much smaller now.  Why?  As I am informed by the children sucking on the icicles, “I broke them off with a karate chop.”  Alrighty then.  Due note the parents are standing right there.  Seriously, these icicles are really sharp and some of them are like 6 inches around.

I am that lame, over-bearing parent.  I guess I’m lame and wouldn’t let my kid even go under them because they are melting and unstable.  I’m really lame because I won’t let Bean run around with one in her mouth, licking it like it’s a lollipop.  Okay, that is just nasty.  That water comes from the nasty roof and gutter overflow.  Of course, I NEVER did this as a child (*wink wink*).  I was an angel (…fixing my bent halo).  My mom NEVER sent us outside until it was dark, pretty much letting us have the run of the street.  Of course not.  How is it that stuff we did as children is not okay for our children?

Speaking on winter things people do, I’m obsessed with knocking that built-up black snow and ice that forms behind your wheel wells.  I get so excited when I get to kick off big hunks.  I even do it on cars that are not mine like at Walmart last night.  If you car is chunk free, look for me.  Last year, I was obsessed with eating snow and ice cubes, all thanks to my beastie baby.  It’s weird because eating snow and ice don’t give me that feeling anymore…

Don’t you love how I always go off on a tangent?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 3:39 pm

    I feel the same way! I am so scared that one would hurt myself or kids

  2. February 19, 2010 4:26 pm

    I was just at lunch with my girls and we were all talking about how our mothers never put sunscreen on us, yet we won’t let our kids go anywhere without a five inch layer of protection. I hope I live long enough to see their smooth wrinkle free skin when they are 35!

  3. February 20, 2010 2:59 pm

    Happy SITS Saturday Sharefest!

    I think I’ve seen that horror movie that features someone getting impaled on an icicle so I don’t think you’re being overprotective. Why chance it? And ditto on the nasty water that formed those icicles.

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 20, 2010 3:26 pm

      I keep wondering if “death by icicle” is really possible or one of those urban myths. I’d have to ask the hubby since I’m sure they’ve tried it on MythBusters.

  4. February 20, 2010 4:23 pm

    It doesn’t make you lame at all–you are a concerned parent so it’s only natural that you would fear for the safety of your child! I don’t blame you one bit–those icicles look pretty dangerous.

    It’s funny though when I think of the things I got away with as a child and I managed to live through all the bruises, scrapes, and trips to the ER. I wonder if I can invent a protective shielf when I have kids? I’d love a big bubble to put them in 🙂

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 20, 2010 4:35 pm

      Amen sister. You find one of those bubble, due let me know.

  5. February 20, 2010 6:41 pm

    We get those massive icicles here too. My husband knocks them down to make it safer for me and Pumpkin to leave the apartment. Thank you so much for the reminder, by the way. I have had a button made forever, but finally put it up after reading your comment today. Thanks!

  6. February 22, 2010 5:27 pm

    we used to play with icicles while we were growing up and my mom would freak out, now that I have my own son I understand the reasons behind that lol

  7. February 22, 2010 9:35 pm

    I’m scared of them after seeing a certain episode of Grey’s Anatomy. If you haven’t seen it, don’t watch it now.

Leave a Reply

