Skip to content

Writer’s Workshop: Childhood Memory

February 18, 2010

Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop

Childhood memory time: Write about something you loved to do as a child.

I’ll be honest with you.  I was so NOT the coolest kid on the block, in the neighborhood, or probably in the county.  Dorky and all, I still had a pretty terrific childhood from a middle child syndrome standpoint.  But when I think about what I really loved to do as a child, there is one thing that pops into my head.  I loved all things cat.  I’m talking playing, snuggling, and wishing.

Growing up, my childhood cat was Gizmo.  We got him when I was in kindergarten.  I can remember our parents giving us the opportunity to name him.  At the time, we were living in Hawaii as I grew up for about 17 years being a military brat.  So I’m a 5 year old living near a beach; the obvious choice for me was dolphin.  Needless-to-say, my idea was vetoed.  Not that I’m worried dating myself, but Gremlins was out so that influence obviously won over.  Looking back, dolphin would have been pretty stupid but maybe a nice story.

Having a cat around 24-7 meant I was obsessed.  I can remember in elementary school, sneaking out to the living room, EVERY night to snag Gizmo and take him to be.  Oh you know he loved it.  Yep, Gizmo was a he.  I made him lay with his head on the pillow.  He would lay there long enough for me to relax my grip, then he bolted.  One birthday of mine, I actually wrapped presents (things from my room) from Gizmo for me to unwrap.  I loved my cat and I LOVED opening presents.  Gizmo was such a patient patient.  He used to let me dress him up in dresses, strap him into my doll stroller, and push him up and down our street.  He only bit me once in all the years, on my ear; I bit him back.  Okay, so here is the part where I’m feeling like a loser.  I can’t believe I’m admitting some of this.

By junior high, my obsession with snuggling and dressing my cat had passed.  I know you are thinking:  Thank God!  Junior high wasn’t all that fun for me.  This began all the torture and teasing.  I so was not the coolest kid.  By this point, my parents had divorced and I was living with my mom and siblings.  She didn’t have a lot of money so we couldn’t afford the coolest clothes and shoes.  My outfits were pretty much from K-Mart, a place where you didn’t want to get caught entering; the thought of the box with the blue light on a pole makes me crindge.  My shoes were always from Payless before Payless had cute shoes.  Do “Prowings” ring a bell?  Probably not.  You were cooler.  Combine my apparel with my looks, I was an easy target.  Here is a visual.

Sally Jessie Raphael’s glasses but in clear baby blue:

A haircut that was supposed to be like Farrah Facet but looked more like a long mullet (again, thank mom).  Remember, I had red hair too.I was a hotty!  I used to stand at the bus stop and wish I was a cat.  I could just chill all day.  How lame is that?  My husband thinks it’s hilarious.

As life would sort of repeat itself, my oldest loves cats.  The only difference is she’s cute, allergic to them, I would never let her wear a mullet, she doesn’t have to wear glasses, and her mom LOVES shoes.  (I should thank my mom in a round about way for my love of cloths and shoes)  In a serious note…my mom did what she need and what she could to provide for us.  Oh how that petty stuff when you were younger just seems stupid now.  Accept for being even an ounce of cool.  I hate to wait to grow out of the ugly duckling stage.  I have grown out of it, haven’t I?

NOTE:  If you wish to participate in Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop on Thursdays, it’s fun and easy.  You just pick one of her prompts, write about it (or go off on tangents like myself), and link up.  It’s fun to read what everyone came up with.  Boy they will be disappointed here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2010 1:58 pm

    That wasn’t diappointing at all! I love how you loved your cat! That was one very patient cat!!

  2. February 18, 2010 2:00 pm

    I would have loved cats as a kid had I been around them. I sure do love them now thanks to my dad taking in 6 from the neighborhood that were strays. I have had 3 cats of my own, currently Manny and Spunky who are entering Fin’s Cato-O-Lympics in bloggy land!

    Visiting from Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop.

  3. February 18, 2010 4:18 pm

    Nope, not disappointing! I liked it! I always liked cats but I am allergic to them like your daughter. You’re lucky you had such a nice, patient cat to play with as a kid!

  4. February 19, 2010 12:10 pm

    I swear, I had the same glasses in baby blue, also! I feel ya! And my mom decided to try and give me a home made perm by wrapping my hair in tissue…the night before picture day! I looked like a freaking poodle with awful glassess. Sooo not cute!

    Stopping by from SITS!

  5. February 19, 2010 3:52 pm

    Hi there, found you via Mesina’s blog. What a fun read, I loved the image of you strolling the streets with your cat.

    Ever noticed how the hero(ine)s of coming of age novels are never the ‘cool’ kids? That’s because we all felt like misfits in one way or another and so that’s what we relate to.

    The pics are hilarious by the way! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

