Skip to content

Facebook Fan Page

February 17, 2010

I have finally set up a Facebook Fan Page for those requesting it.  It’s not 100% like the actual widget but I got it pretty close.  It links right to my fan page.  Feel free to “Become a Fan” over on the right sidebar.

As a former “Blogger” blogger, WP.com can be a pain in the butt if you want to have the same “cookie cutter” features like most blogs out there.  WP.com doesn’t allow you to use any java code so all those “must have” widgets like Google Friend Connect, Networked Blogs, and Facebook Fan Page.  I know, what a dork.  Doesn’t have the coolest, must have shoes blogging tools (reliving my middle school career?).

Honestly though, and I’m sure someone is going to hate this, I don’t think that all of the Google Friend Connect “friends” truly are followers of those blogs.  It’s just too darn easy to hit that “connect” button.  If I truly love a blog, I know the address by heart, receive the feed via email, or have it on my blogroll/button swap.  I will admit that I do use Google Friend Connect on my blog reading adventures, but it’s so I can find a blog that I stumbled upon and follow up reading it at a later point.  Let’s be honest.  I’m acting like I don’t like Google Friend Connect because I’m a hater and I have blog envy.

So you are wondering, why not self-host?  Well, I already switched from Blogger and got everything nice and tidy.  I don’t want to have to redo anything.  Lazy?  Yes.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2010 8:26 pm

    I would agree with you on the Google Friend thing, however, they did just integrate it with the Google Reader so it does show up in my feed on my homepage now – I think it just started doing that last week.

    Yay Fan page! I think I’m fan #7. =D

  2. February 18, 2010 9:45 am

    I became a fan, I am enjoying reading ur blog

  3. February 19, 2010 9:17 pm

    I’m glad you recently posted this- I was trying to figure out how to follow you! I use the following to add people to my blog roll. I did have blogs bookmarked, but after hitting 30 it was getting ridiculous 🙂

    Glad to have found you!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 20, 2010 3:40 pm

      WP.com is so goofy. I finally added the facebook page. You can subscribe via email but then you get stalked by all my wonderful postings. Off for a visit too.

Leave a Reply

