Skip to content

Writer’s Workshop: 10 Things I Never Knew Until I Became a Mom

February 4, 2010

Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop

1o Things I never Knew Until I Became a Mom

  1. Breastfeeding: It’s a whole new world where life resolves around feeding from the boob, pumping the boob, trying to cover the boob, keeping a dry boob, and how much the hubby likes the bigger boobs.  Did you know that breastfeeding is still taboo to many and I have a baby that doesn’t like to be covered when she feeds?  I also never knew how proud I am to say that I’m breastfeeding even if you think it’s weird.
  2. Poop: How can something start out as seeds and turn into a blow out in just a couple days?  I swear breastfed baby poop does smell better (sort of sweet) but it makes one hell of a mess.  I’m talking coming out every possible tiny opening it can find.  Did you know putting your poop stained apparel in the sun, especially the white stuff because you know that’s the only time you have an explosion, gets the stains out?
  3. Sleep: People warn you to rest up before the baby comes.  People tell you to sleep in the hospital during labor.  People tell you to sleep when the baby sleeps.  People don’t tell you that you wake up in the middle of the night to take care and feed a baby but don’t remember doing it in the morning.  I was never told that when I have a baby I will become a zombie.  I miss sleep.
  4. Messy: So it’s cool getting all the baby stuff at your showers.  It’s not cool when you house looks like a bomb went off in it, everyday.  Then you think, didn’t I just take out the diaper pail and pick up those toys?  How come the floor is littered with toys again (that I keep stepping on) and the diaper pail is full.
  5. Crying: I will quote myself saying right before our second child was born (6 years between the two), “I love baby cries.  They can’t be any worse than a 3-4 year old crying temper tantrum.”  Uh, Wrong!  Nothing is as ear-piercing as a baby wail.  Nobody informed me that those baby cries also made me lactate (should this be filed under breastfeeding?).
  6. Husbands: Of course we love them.  But boy do they get on our nerves.  They’ve got this innate ability to sleep (and snore) through everything, including the crying baby.  I think they fake it.  They try and help, but it’s best if we just do it ourselves.  You ask them to get something but they can’t find it, even though it’s in the same place it’s been for months, let alone years. (Seriously, do you live here?)  But, I figured out that you should let them do it their way because some help is better than none.
  7. Socks: I’ve never had problems finding my cloths, socks included.  Now, how come when I fold laundry, I always have a stack of endless loner socks?
  8. Garage Doors: I’ve always been happy when the hubby came home.  But I’ve never been happier in my life to hear the garage door open.  I feel like our dog, waiting by the door and wagging my tail.  Ready for the baby hand off.
  9. Silly: I’m a goofy person; maybe you can tell that by my writing.  I never thought I would act so silly to entertain my children.  Whether it’s acting like a cat in the living room for the baby or doing a dance with the 6.75 year old (yes, you must add the 0.75), life has never been so entertaining.  I’m sure it’s pretty entertaining for those walking their dogs past the house and looking into the front window (note to self:  close blinds).
  10. LOVE: and on a serious note…I never knew how much I could love another person until you add to to the family.  It’s a weird concept that you grasp almost immediately after birth.  Of course, I also love my quite time too, for which I am owed some soon.  Can you hear my oldest daughter TALKING my ear off?

22 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 3:54 pm

    The garage door one made me laugh out loud – I feel the same way when I hear my husband’s car come up the drive. Mostly because, right now, it means I’ll get a tummy massage and the dog will stop moping around the house!

    I can definitely agree with you on the socks but it only happens to mine! My husband always has all of his socks! I think there’s a conspiracy between my husband and our dryer….

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 4, 2010 8:53 pm

      Ahhh…massage. I used to beg the hubby to do my feet when I was pregnant. The tummy was sensative because I had gallbladder issues then it was off limits because of pre-term labor.

      Sadly I rarely loose socks because I rarely wear them. I would love to sport flip flops all winter if it didn’t rain or snow. I have to say one of the biggest reasons I didn’t want to leave our short stink in Texas.

      Thanks for the visit!

  2. Katie permalink
    February 4, 2010 3:58 pm

    So with ya on this one. Linus NEVER wanted to be covered. I have a friend who had the nerve to say to me, “You don’t feed him in public do you?” My response, “Don’t you eat in public?” I mean really! I really don’t care what some people think. I feel like it is best for me and for Linus and so does the WHO (World Health Organization). Who can argue with that?

    I also feel pride. I feel like I am doing the hardest thing I have ever done and for the best reason.

    Oh, distilled white vinegar in the rinse cycle also helps with stains!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 4, 2010 8:51 pm

      I forgot about vinegar. I do through some of that in a load too if it seems like it might be gamey.

      My AIL (aunt-in-law) has asked numerous times, “So, how long do you plan on breastfeeding?” Uh…until I’m done. They are the taboo type and think it’s gross or weird. Also childless so advice isn’t their forte on these types of matters.

      So whatcha doing with all that free time?

  3. February 4, 2010 4:33 pm

    Yes, yes, yes. You pretty much nailed the ten things I would have written about on the head.

    Oh, but if I could add an eleventh (or maybe file this with crying?) it would be: headaches. I don’t get migraines but I get daily tension headaches now. Tylenol was my friend during my last pregnancy…but I’ve since switched to the “harder” stuff. (Motrin…I’m not a druggie. :))

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 4, 2010 8:42 pm

      Funny you mention headaches. Mine have been awful lately. Can’t figure if its life, the need for vision check, or the weather. Tylenol doesn’t cut anything for me either. Motrin for sure. Thanks for the visit. Off to reciprocate!

  4. February 4, 2010 4:33 pm

    So true! I never imagined half the things I do now as a mom I would ever do! I guess that is life! There are probably things we will be doing as grandparents that we never would dreamed we wound right now.

  5. February 4, 2010 6:14 pm

    I literally LOL’ed at the Sock thing… I swear just since I had my second in May I have bought 3 new packs of socks because someone MUST be eating them!!!!!

    Love your list!
    Stoppin’ by from SITS!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 4, 2010 8:38 pm

      I’m pretty sure the dryer eats them and spits them out at later dates.

      I buy Bean cute colored sock. Over the winter, I took all of the left overs and made her a really cute scarf. I need to post a tutorial on that because it could sure be useful to many. Thanks for the visit.

  6. February 4, 2010 7:06 pm

    I too get excited to hear the garage door open.

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 4, 2010 8:31 pm

      I think most moms do! Thanks for the visit.

  7. February 4, 2010 10:38 pm

    I completely agree on #3– sleep. I have a friend who is 36 weeks pregnant with her first. She SWEARS the baby is coming early. I SWORE the same thing at 36 weeks… and 37… and 38… then forced my OB to strip my membranes at 40 weeks! I told my friend to enjoy the last few weeks of her pregnancy and take advantage of the last few nights she may ever have alone again!

    Thanks for the comment love today– you did your own layout too? That’s way harder on WP– I’m BLOWN AWAY!!!

    ~Elizabeth
    Confessions From A Working Mom

  8. February 4, 2010 10:56 pm

    Your list cracked me up! I was deceived by baby #2. She was the best baby. She was quiet, amused herself. Slept good. Good. Baby! Then I had my son. And wow! I was in a tail spin. You just never know. Haha.

  9. February 4, 2010 11:28 pm

    Excellent list.

    I imagine a lot of these are things that people can tell you until they’re blue in the face, but you won’t get it until you experience it.

    I feel like I’m going to be a lot better prepared for when I have children because of of some fantastic posts like this!

    Good tip on putting poop-soaked clothing in the sun. Cause, I mean… you never know.

  10. February 5, 2010 1:38 am

    I’d always heard you get really comfortable with poop. I mean, other people’s poop. Most of us are pretty comfy with our own… in the non-literal sense.

  11. February 5, 2010 3:05 am

    oh yes I can still remember… LOL!
    About men.
    Imagine how their position is different when you’re more than you and him.
    That’s why men feel sometimes they’re like outsiders because we women know by nature what and how to do things…We should understand them…and let them do things in their way. Our way is not always the only way…hm…even if our way is always the best way! 🙂

    And we should remember to hug and kiss our men as we did before kids… 🙂 and have time together, just two of us…

    Exploring SITStablogs…
    Sunny greetings from Cairo!

    http://BLOGitse.blogspot.com

  12. February 5, 2010 10:35 am

    Do you feel as if you could write a book? Like “Things People Tried to Tell You Before You Had a Baby But You Didn’t Listen To Them?”
    Love the sun and pooh trick. I’ll have to try that if I ever see the sun again.

  13. February 5, 2010 11:38 am

    Ah, these made me laugh! I’m at the tail end of 3-in-a-row babies, so I get these all too well! This sock thing is so new to me, it only started happening when my 5th arrived. I now always have a pile of socks with no partner. After a few weeks, I’ll throw the pile out figuring I’ll never find it a mate. When do you think that darn missing sock turns up???? Yup- the day after garbage day.

  14. February 5, 2010 12:22 pm

    This list made me laugh! Everything you wrote is so true, especially about the garage door opening! I used to wait like a dog at the door who hasn’t seen its owner in 3 days. Heck, I’m even like that now and my kids are no longer babies!!

    Found you through SITS!

  15. February 5, 2010 9:02 pm

    You get used to the sleep deprivation but it is worse with high schoolers than with newborns. I used to kick my husband when the baby cried and pretend to be asleep so he’s go get them! LOL you need to give that a try! Loved your post!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 5, 2010 9:46 pm

      Ah..the kick doesn’t work with this man. I’ve given up with the bed shake as well. That used to be a great tool to get him to stop sleeping but he must think he’s being rocked like a baby. I don’t even want to think of having high schoolers. I’m a worry wart…thanks for the visit!

Trackbacks

  1. To Bank or Not to Bank | Mr and Mrs Wright

Leave a Reply

