Skip to content

Wordful Wednesday…doggie style?

February 3, 2010

Doggie Style?  How inappropriate is that, really?  Ah, but it’s funny and I like funny.  And well, this is my blog so tough.

Okay.   So, background on these images and my dislike for this dog.  Cindy, name not changed because she has no identity, is just plain weird.  We’ve had her now about 2.5 years.  Picked her up at a no kill shelter in Texas when she was about 6 months old, about a week after moving there.  From day one, she has some “being outside alone” phobia.  You put her outside, she sits by the door.  You have to sort of trick her to go to the bathroom but some days, like this morning, I just want to put her outside like a normal dog and let her do her business.  The more you tell her to “Go Potty,” the more she starts to shake.  In Texas, we would just leave her outside for a while but we now live in Ohio, where winters are colder.  Our little lady has no undercoat so she can’t just hang out in 20 degree weather.  Oh, but her need to want to potty in groups is not her only quirk.

Dearest Cindy has phobias of almost everything, for example, the camera I used to take the photos.  Notice the ears going lower and lower as I followed her around the yard for pictures.  Other things she is afraid of:  plastic bags, water, tape measures, bathrooms (except in dire cases that she’s craving toilet water), metal food bowls…need I say more.

She does have a few favorites that will get her going, like chasing our cats, running around the yard after laser lights, eating sticks, and….drumroll please…eating cat poop.  She is the cat poop queen.

As often as we think of getting rid of her (sometimes she seems like more of a hassle than a family member), I remember that this group I call my family has many quirks too.  But FYI to our daughter, the only pet in her near future are Zhu Zhus.

DISCLAIMER:  No animals were hurt in the making of these photos…that was later when she decided to poop in the basement instead of outside.  Ok, for those that think we would hurt a dog…we wouldn’t but she did go in her crate.  Yes, we crate train our dog.  Remember, she has funky issues and her crate is a comfort zone (and place to run when she’s been naughty and she knows it).

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 3:09 pm

    Your dog sounds as quirky as mine. Max isn’t afraid of the outdoors and he’s a camera whore, but his other fears are just silly. Like the washing machine – he’s afraid of the spin cycle. He’ll run into the office and hide under my husband’s desk and shake. He’s afraid of thunder, tall people (like over 6 feet), and gets all mopey when my husband leaves for work. I have to open the blinds in our bedroom so he can stare mournfully at the driveway until Stephen’s car returns. I do love him, though – he’s a handful but, then again, I can be too!

  2. February 3, 2010 7:54 pm

    What a cute pup!

    Added your button to my blog. 🙂

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 3, 2010 10:27 pm

      Cute but trying at times! Thanks for the add…going to visit and see if you’ve got a button I can add 🙂

  3. February 3, 2010 8:03 pm

    Rats! I can’t seem to add your button – I copied the code exactly, but all that appears on my side bar is the word ‘tickled’. 😦

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 3, 2010 10:27 pm

      Ok…so I figured out the problem. I swear WordPress.com is annoying. The code you saw on the webpage is written correct but somehow gets messed up when copying. It was adding additional “” that weren’t on the webpage. Very weird. After Googling and trying it on my own, I found yet another way around WP.com kinks. Try it again for me and do let me know if you have any issues: https://tickledpinktwice.wordpress.com/links/ Thanks for letting me know and your patience.

  4. February 4, 2010 1:00 am

    sweet pics!!! funny dog!!

  5. February 4, 2010 9:18 am

    Ahhh. . . . . .very cute pups!!

  6. February 4, 2010 4:27 pm

    Awwww …. I think we need to consult with the Dog Whisperer. LOL. This is like the 3rd doggie picture I’ve seen for WW. I do have a doggie picture myself.

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 4, 2010 8:49 pm

      I would seriously call the Dog Whisperer but I heard he doesn’t visit up here in Ohio. My daughter says to call Victoria from “It’s Me or the Dog.” I don’t really like how she makes it the fault of the owner…of course it can’t be us…right? RIGHT? Thanks for the visit!

Leave a Reply

