Skip to content

I Am Not That Strong…

February 3, 2010
tags:

…so quit putting the soda bottle lids on so tight.

I really wanted a glass of Dr. Pepper with my lunch.  Baby Bird is being quite the fussy butt.  Since beer and wine by myself at noon seemed a bit of a no-no, a soda would do.  And in a moment of desperation, I did the unthinkable…


…I cut open the 2-liter bottle.  It was really my only option after cussing, using my teeth, and hot water on the lid did not work. I guess I could have waited for the hubby to come home and open it, but I had my heart set on a drink at that point.   Now, it’s a little more soda than I was looking to drink but I couldn’t leave any in the bottle because it would go flat.

Seriously, the hubby needs to remember that  we don’t all have super human strength in this household.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 4:25 pm

    Good for you for taking matters into your own hands. It’s a woman’s prerogative to do what needs to be done when she wants something! 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by Crumbs today!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 3, 2010 10:31 pm

      Amen. Thank goodness I wasn’t preggo or the bottle would have been shreaded. Probably why I gave up soda during pregnancy! Thanks for stopping by too!

  2. February 3, 2010 5:09 pm

    My husband does the SAME thing, except it’s with Coke. 😉 I don’t know why men do that – maybe they think the tighter the cap, the fizzier it will stay???

    …thanks for stopping by today! 🙂

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 3, 2010 10:30 pm

      That could be. The hubby always says that he didn’t put it on tight but it tightened itself. I’m like..well just set the lid on next time and cure the problem totally. Someone else mentioned cans, which is a must with Coke!

  3. February 3, 2010 5:44 pm

    This is SO something I would do! In fact, things like this is why I’m willing to spring the extra cash for the cans! Glad you got you DP fix!
    Thanks for stopping by Typing One Handed.

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 3, 2010 10:29 pm

      I think you are right…cans are essentially fool proof. I always do Coke in a can because it’s just better that way. I can imagine if I accidentally break off the pop can top…I’d be using a screwdriver! Thanks for the visit as well! Love your recipes!

  4. February 3, 2010 7:47 pm

    YUM!! I hear you – I LOVE Dr. Pepper!! Totally worth all the bottle top twisting burns. 😀

  5. February 4, 2010 12:18 am

    Thanks for stopping by!!!! I always blog from my bb!! I just go to the blogger website and sign in…no need for an app! A lot of scrolling sometimes….but it works just fine!!!

    Oh…and I always tighten up the bottles…so the hub leaves my cranberry juice alone!

  6. February 4, 2010 12:37 am

    A womans got to do what a womans got to do. 🙂

    P.S. Your dog sounds interesting. 🙂

  7. February 4, 2010 1:06 am

    There’s no doubt in my mind that

    A) you did the right thing

    and

    B) the bottle had it coming.

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 4, 2010 10:05 pm

      LOL. It did!

  8. February 4, 2010 2:22 pm

    My husband does that to me all the time!!! Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂

  9. February 4, 2010 2:44 pm

    I hate it when that happens.
    I came from SITS just to say hi.

  10. February 4, 2010 10:02 pm

    haha. I laughed out loud! I would definitely do this for my diet coke. Too funny!

  11. February 6, 2010 4:00 pm

    Oh my!!! Don’t come between a woman and her soda fix – hahaha!!

    ~WM

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 8, 2010 1:08 am

      Tell me about it. I’m dying for some OJ right now because I’m battling a cold. Can you believe the hubby won’t go to the store at 12am? How rude.

Leave a Reply

