Skip to content

Date Night Recap: Photo Style

February 2, 2010

Saturday night, the hubby and I joined two friends for a night of skiing.  Everybody that was supposed to join us chickened out because they heard it was going to be like 15 degrees or something.  Ha Ha Losers.  It was 18 so you skipped out for nothing.  Now, to the probable  dislike of the hubby, I made him model his ski apparel to make sure he looked fashionable enough to be on the slopes (i.e. not wearing his leather jacket):

Disregard the photo frames that have been sitting for months now by the wall that they need to be hung up on.  Patiently waiting on the “Honey Do List.”

I love taking photos so you know I opted for the “before we start skiing” shot:

And before you ask, yes, that’s my hubby looking all distinguished and me doing the “Captain.”

As they always stay, “The bigger they are, the harder they fall.”  I would have to agree.  The hubby did a lovely, cart-wheelesc style wipe-out.  Didn’t move for a bit.  Timidly finished that slope.  Enjoyed me capturing the after thoughts:

Yowsers…that stare is as cold as the wind chill. 

It has been forever since I skiied but it’s like riding a bike, you never forget.  Token ski bunny shot ahead; who is that gorgeous lady?

We all survived.  Hubby did end up enjoying himself but learned to not try a hill if he thought he might dump it 10 foot down.  We are all actually considering passes for next year. 

And before you ask, yes that guy is wearing a John Deere sweatshirt, but at least he was wearing ski pants as opposed to the many jean-sporting skiiers there tonight.  And yes, that is the coolest flamingo tote I am holding.

Oh, and one more thing in regards to jean-sporting skiiers.  Why?  They seem to be the ones that fall the most and are snow covered.  It has to be cold.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 4:47 pm

    Seeing your pictures makes me want to go snowboarding (sorry, no skiing here)!! I miss it so much…I really need to just pack up everything and go one weekend…that would be nice!

    Thanks for stopping by my blogtopia 🙂 I’m following you now!!

    ~WM

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 2, 2010 4:59 pm

      I’ve snowboarded once but wasn’t very good. We bought our house a little over a year ago and just found 3 snowboards in our garage attic. We’ve thrown around the idea of giving them a go. As long as I don’t break a limb, I’m all for it.

      I forgot how much I enjoyed skiing until I was all strapped in…I really miss REAL snow sports, not the blown type.

      Thanks for the visit. Added you to my blogroll so I can check back daily for more fun!

  2. February 2, 2010 10:22 pm

    Funny! I have frames all over my house just like that! Some of them have graduated to the wall but without pictures still!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 4, 2010 12:38 am

      Hopefully we get them hung up this next week. I’ve got to mark the spots for the hubby or they will end up crooked.

  3. February 3, 2010 3:13 pm

    I so miss skiing! Honey has a bad knee so no skiing! Looks like you had a great date night!!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 3, 2010 10:32 pm

      My honey might have bad knees after his wipe out. Thought we were going to have to call the ski patrol. I’m ready to go again but not sure if he’s up to it. Thank goodness for friends that love to ski. We’re taking Bean in a week so he should be happy since we will be stuck on the bunny hills.

  4. February 4, 2010 2:45 am

    Hi: Thought I would stop by and visit, and I am so glad I did. Love your blog. The pictures are fabulous. Will be back soon and thanks so much for sharing. Cheers, Lia

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 4, 2010 10:04 pm

      Thanks. I love posting photos. I think it makes it more interesting even if you don’t read what i write. Thanks for the visit!

  5. February 4, 2010 10:47 am

    I am glad you had a good time!
    DH and I are going to try and make it out for an hour or so on Friday night, hopefully we can find a sitter because it has been a while!

    Stoppin’ by from SITS!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 4, 2010 10:04 pm

      Date night every once and a while is a must. It’s every once and a while for us. We’ve never used a sitter other than family, which we are lucky. I miss seeing movies!

  6. February 4, 2010 12:02 pm

    Over from SITS.

    We just got back from skiing ourselves. Although, I must admit – I have never skiied at night – I HAVE seen skiiers in jeans (and skirts for that matter!)

    My only thought on that is that they must never fall down, or get into any deep snow.
    Wet anything + skiing = NOT GOOD!

    Glad I came over! 🙂

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 4, 2010 8:55 pm

      Skiing in skirts. I would have to see that. I can’t even imagine. Legs have to be cold when you are whipping down the slopes. Night skiing is fun but we don’t live near a huge actual mountain. I’m pretty sure night skiing in Colorado or Washington isn’t a smart thing.

      Thanks for the visit.

Leave a Reply

