Skip to content

What is it with Breast Milk and I?

January 28, 2010

I’m starting to think that I’ve got some sort of weird breast milk addiction.  Why you ask?  Check out my freezer, keeping in mind that I have a 9 month old:

Now let me clarify, I’m not addicted to drinking it or anything.  I’m not that weird.  I’ve got this weird sort of hoarding habit for pumped milk. 

Baby Bird is 9 months old now, strictly breastfed (as in no bottles) and baby food.  I am pretty sure she feeds anywhere from 4-6 times a day.  Everytime I try to remember how many times she ate in a day, I always end up with one feeding session that I’m like, “Did she eat at 2 pm or not?”

After she goes to bed around 8-9 pm, after her last feed.  I end up pumping right before bed around 12-1 am (yes I stay up too late).  I do use the pumped milk for cereal but the rest gets frozen.  I’ve been constantly thinking, “Why don’t I give up pumping before bed and let my body adjust milk production?”  Sounds easy enough to do but I just can’t let myself do it. 

Here are the reasons I’ve come up with:

  • What if I get sick?  With a child in elementary school, I worry that I might catch some awful stomach bug and can’t breastfeed Baby Bird.  (knocking on wood right now because vomit is like kryptonite for me) 
  • Maybe the hubby and I will take a vacation:  Vacation, what’s that?  We haven’t even taken our honeymoon.  Honestly, I can’t imagine leaving the kids (especially the baby) overnight, even for our upcoming late night ski session.  The extended family thinks I’m weird but since when do I care what people think.
  • Maybe I’ll win that ticket to Blissdom ’10 to be given away HERE by Blissfully Domestic and One2One Network:  HOPEFULLY.  Course, the family would probably head down the same time and I’d be able to sneak in my feeds, I mean, Baby Birds feeds.
  • Weight-loss:  Not being vain, but I look good right now.  I’m 130 pounds, about 20 pounds under my preggo weight.  Of course, delivering a 9 lb, 15.6 ounce baby, only gaining 16 pounds, and having gallbladder problems helped burning off my heavily guarded butt and thighs.  I love fitting my size 2/4 jeans, and frankly, I love the compliments 🙂
  • It all goes back to the beginning of my breastfeeding career:  I had sleepy baby so she was very hard to get woken up to feed.  Top it off, she was a lazy latcher.  But, my baby plan included breastfeeding or pumping/feeding by bottle.  So, we rented the industrial strength pump from the hospital for a month until she got better at breastfeeding.  I went from not being able to pump milk to being able to feed quads.  I had my own suburban dairy going on.  But she got better and so did I…I figured I’m good at making milk now, why stop?

Guess I will make a donation to the local milk bank or see it anyone is looking for a wet nurse (just kidding).  Honestly, I think it’s all somehow related to my love of breastfeeding Baby Bird.  With her being 9 months, I know in the back of my mind, it’s all coming to an end…sometime when she’s like 8 years old.  Just kidding.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 2:52 pm

    No no no, you are NOT crazy! You are a kindred spirit! It’s so funny, I am friends with a group of moms who all breastfed (like me), and we used to laugh at ourselves and our stockpile. What were we preparing for, nuclear holocaust?

    By the time we reached the peak of my supply– about 10 months old– I had 200 bags– more than 1000 ounces!!!– of milk in our deep freezer (which we had to buy specifically for storing milk!). For that reason, I was able to stop my daytime pumping sessions at work much earlier than I’d anticipated; and my daughter was STILL able to drink exclusively breast milk until about 13+ months old!

    ~Elizabeth
    Confessions From A Working Mom

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      January 29, 2010 12:00 am

      Well I’m glad that I’m not the only one who stockpiles. Thank goodness I didn’t stockpile for a few months. Feeding was going well for us, sleep not so much. I was doing a lot of night feeding (encouraged by a hubby that wanted to go back to bed) up til a couple weeks ago. I finally put an end to it because I needed sleep. So, replace my night feeds with the need to pump before bed. Probably doesn’t make sense to the average person but us kindred folk can relate.

      Kudos for you for keeping at it and pumping while working. I’m blessed to stay home but it seems like the most common excuse while women stop. I’m like “HELLO,” formula is expensive, breastmilk is free. Makes sense to me.

      I’ve wondered if I should give her milk until I run out. How long did you BF for?

      ~Kay

  2. January 28, 2010 4:15 pm

    I always had more than I needed. I was ready to feed the neighborhood. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
    January 28, 2010 11:54 pm

    I never knew anyone that breastfed their babies until I decided to breastfeed. They come out of the woodwork. It’s so funny to hear that others have the same “good fortune.” Thanks again.

  4. January 29, 2010 12:28 pm

    You’re amazingly persistent! I admire mums like yourself who persevere through something so difficult to upkeep! Kudos! 🙂

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      January 29, 2010 12:44 pm

      I gave up early with my first child. I didn’t have that mentality that I WAS going to do it so it was very easy to quit. I’m surprised I made it this long. In the beginning, I had 3 battles with mastistis which was down right aweful. I figured if I got past that pain, I better not quit. I’m glad I kept with it and now sad that it’s coming to an end. Funny, because I never understood the draw and attachment to it until I was an official member of the breastfeeding club. Thanks for the visit!

  5. January 29, 2010 1:24 pm

    I had a stash of breastmilk in my freezer for quite awhile too. In the end I actually had to throw some of it out because it had gone bad. Hopefully you’ll get to go to Blissdom and some of your work will be put to good use!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      January 29, 2010 5:00 pm

      Oh man. You had to throw some out. I always feel bad when I have to do that. It’s like liquid gold. I would love to go to Blissdom but am hoping to get to Blogher and maybe a SITS bootcamp.

  6. February 2, 2010 8:50 pm

    Oh you inspire me! 🙂 My mom and I were just talking about this today…breastfeeding that is. 🙂 I’m not a mommy yet, but Lord-willing will be one one day. Amidst all the hulabaloo about it being “too difficult”, I plan to do everything in my power to make sure my little ones get the positive benefits of this natural process. Thanks for your honesty! (And thanks for stopping by my blog!) Can’t wait to read more of your blog!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      February 4, 2010 12:37 am

      You know, with my 1st, I did not go into the pregnancy with the plan to BF no matter what. Of course, she has some allergy and asthma issues. With that said, I wanted to give it my all and hope that maybe this one won’t have those issues. I love it. Don’t get me wrong; it’s not easy for all like it is in the movies. Sometimes its your boobs and other times its the baby, like in my case. She was HUGE and sleepy and had jaundice issues. Didn’t care to feed much, even from a bottle. Took her a while to catch on but we are full steam ahead now. Ive become one of those birkenstock wearing BFer’s that don’t want to stop. Good luck and I plan to be a repeat offender, I mean, visitor!

Leave a Reply

