Skip to content

Spicy Tuesdays…

January 26, 2010

 

If there is one thing the hubby misses from our adventures living in San Antonio, it would be the spice of the city.  He is a lover of all things spicy, unlike myself, who would end up being a lover of all things Tums.  But, since I love him, I humor him on Tuesdays with my semi-spicy cooking.  And ever once an awhile, I go a step further by making him some salsa.  Enjoy my easy recipe. 

Simple Salsa: 

  • 3 lb ripe, red tomatoes, washed and halved
  • 3-6 jalapeño peppers, cut in half length wise, remove the seed and stem
  • 4 cloves garlic, mince through a garlic press
  • 1/2 cup white onion, finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons ground chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/4 cup cider vinegar
  • Salt to taste (I do just a few shakes)
  1. Roast tomato halves in a single layer a large baking pan at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.  Cool and drain.
  2. Puree the cooled tomato halves and jalapeno halves  in the food processor but don’t over do it.  There are a lot of tomatoes here so it might take you 2-3 batches.
  3. In a saucepan, mix tomato/jalapeno purée, garlic, onions, chili powder, cumin, and vinegar.  Simmer for about 10 minutes.
  4. Season and salt additional if needed.  At this step, I separate mine into two batches because the hubby comes and seasons his to be hotter. 
  5. Serve or refrigerate until later.

TIPS:  This recipe, from who ever I got it from, was not to be used in canning salsa.  Not sure why but just in case, I wouldn’t.  Good in the refrigerator for about 7 days.  I’m sure it could be frozen too but not sure why you would do that with a guy like mine in the house. 

I would love a recipe that I could can for future use or gifts.  Can we say “To Do” list? 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

