Skip to content

My New Hobby

January 21, 2010

I now am now collecting the following:

  • Box Tops found on
  • UPCs from Beechnut baby food products
  • soda can tabs

I mean, seriously, don’t you think I could come up with a better thing to collect.  I’ve always thought those matted stamp collectors items from the Post Office were cool if you were into planes or Super Heros.  Wine has always been a thought, but a bottle doesn’t last long enough in this house to be considered a collection or hobby. 

I used to have quite the collection of shoes back in the day.  My dad used to call me Imelda Marcos.  She was the wife to former Philipines President, Ferdinand Marcos, who had a reported collection of 3000+ shoes.  I wasn’t that bad but I think I was up to about 100 pairs or so, all still in their shoeboxes I might add.  I still have around 40 but I never get to wear them often since I’m typically in barefoot or in flats.  High heels are rarely conducive to toting a baby on the hip to pick up a 1st grader from school.

Anywho, back to my new collection. 

Box Tops for Education are found on many products, from Cheerios to Hamburger Helper.  Each clipped top is worth $0.10 to the participating school.  Our school district had a goal of $500 for the year and have already collected/turned in enough to earn $1305.  Pretty impressive for little pieces of cardboard.  And just wait, some packages offer Box Top bonuses.  It’s a great fundraiser for your child’s education.  Visit their website to sign up for additional savings and see if your school is participating in the program.  How much have they earned?

Baby Bird is breastfeeding less (sniff sniff) and eating more foods.  I have nothing against Gerber foods but I tend to by more Beechnut.  With the sales, coupons, and rebate they offer, it ends up being a good deal.  I still get great deals on Gerber too but just nothing like Beechnut.  That being said, I always scower the internet for deals and Beechnut offers two rebates.  The first rebate requires you to save 48 proofs of purchases (UPCs), you will get four coupons worth $1.00 off 10 items.  The second rebate requires you to save 16 proofs of purchase from their Let It Grow line and you will get two coupons worth $1.00 off 4 Let It Grow items.  Great offers if you used manufacturer and in-store coupons. 

The final items in my collection are soda can tabs.  This collection is a fundraiser for the Ronald McDonald House.  Ever wonder what the point of collecting only the tabs?  I know I have.  The tabs are the only part of the can that consist of high quality aluminum.  The rest of the can has a mixture of aluminum and alloys.  The collection is then taken to a recycling center where it’s weighed to determine value.  FYI:  It takes about 1,267 tabs to make a pound.  Bean’s grandpa collected these for years before his death.  We just turned in a large pretzel container full.  Wish I would have taken a picture.  She was like a celebrity bringing them into school.

These are actually three great things to hang onto for good causes.  As I write this post I did think of some other things I hoard, I mean, collect.  I am a lover of buttons, ribbons, and fabric.  Details details…

Do you take part in any of these? 

Respectfully submitted to Real Life’s Your Life Your Blog!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2010 11:11 pm

    Hi! I’m visiting from MBC. Great blog.

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      January 24, 2010 2:02 pm

      Thanks for the visit Veronica! I’m loving the content on your blog. I’ve never seen some of that stuff. I wish I was in Canada because that McLobster looks so good!

  2. January 25, 2010 12:21 pm

    I collect the Box Tops for my husband’s cousin who is a teacher. It’s a great fundraiser for the schools. Every little bit helps. My youngest is eating baby food. I have to start looking for more of those beech nut rebates.

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      January 25, 2010 1:16 pm

      I’ve heard that some schools don’t want to collect Box Tops because it’s not worth it but it’s free money. As for the Beechnut labels, you think your baby eats a ton of them but it seems like its taking forever to get to 48. Of course, I BF and do mostly that but we are increasing food feed (if I can part with my BFing time). Thanks for visiting. Come back soon. I’m off to check your blog out 🙂

  3. January 25, 2010 2:09 pm

    I keep wanting to collect Box Tops too, but I don’t think my brother would care enough to take them in. :/

    -From SITS

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      January 25, 2010 11:37 pm

      I don’t think they have an expiration date in case you ever have kids down the road…thanks for the visit. I’ve been stalking around your blog. It’s hard to believe that you aren’t even 18; wonderful thoughts and writing! Keep it up.

  4. January 25, 2010 3:32 pm

    I collect Box Tops too. Sometimes they are placed in tricky places to get at with scissors! Stopping by from SITS!

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      January 25, 2010 11:38 pm

      Tell me about it. I was lazy and made enchiladas using El Paso box kit or something like that. I gave up with the scissors and just ripped it out. Thanks for the visit!

Trackbacks

  1. uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

