Skip to content

Cereal, the Breakfast of my Champions

January 20, 2010

I don’t know about you, but I LOVE cereal. I can eat if for any meal or snack. Actually, I currently miss cereal ALOT. Baby Bird has a lactose issue so I’ve given up all those things dairy until her first birthday; we will give it another go after that. I do snack on dry cereal, like today, but not often because I adore it with milk the most. Anywho!

Though I do not have cereal daily this year, Bean has it every morning. (She even takes after me and asks for it for dinner on those lazy meal days.) Not only is it a convenient option for parents, eating cereal for breakfast has many benefits. Studies show that children who eat breakfast perform better at school, get higher test scores, and have reduced absenteeism and tardies. Guess that’s why they always tell you to eat a good breakfast the day of tests…it’s all making sense now!

My children succeeding in school is important to me, as is them not loading up on sugar. My siblings joke that I’m a Sugar Nazi but I prefer the nickname Sugar Sheriff. I was excited to hear that General Mills recently made a commitment to further reduce sugar in cereals targeted to kids under 12; they have begun to reduce sugar content to single digits grams per serving while increasing key nutrients like calcium, vitamin D, and whole grains.

Since the sugar reduction that has taken place with General Mill’s cereal, we have gone through 3 boxes of their cereal:  Honey Nut Cheerios, Cheerios, and Trix.  Bean and I think there is surely no difference in taste.  The true test was the hubby.  He is the expert in figuring out the snack I’ve given him is “reduced sugar.”  Not a peep out of him other than he wants another box of Honey Nut Cheerios for his office desk.   Typical request since last year he finally grasped the concept that snacking  on cookies and Coke all day can pack on the pounds. 

Baby Bird turned 9 months old over the weekend.  Though she is short on have ANY teeth, today was her first time having Cheerios and dry cereal in general.  She’s got some great small motor skills already so this was not only tasty, but fun for her. 

Visit Cheerios website for Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios coupons.  Enter for a chance to win a box of Cheerios, too.

Click Here to print of a coupon for $1.00 off one of four General Mills cereal.

Special thanks to General Mills for providing me free product and additional nutritional information through My Blog Spark.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 1:41 pm

    So happy too!! My kids go to a school where they have extreme nutrional guidlines. They would like us to start w/ breakfast, but sometimesthat doesn’t always happen in age of a bit of cereal w/ your sugar!! :o)

    Visiting from MBC!!! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

