Skip to content

Are there Cliff Notes for Cloth Diapering?

January 20, 2010

There are many reasons while I’ve pondered the thought of cloth diapering:

  1. Cost:  I’ve heard there is quite the initial investment but in the long run it’s cheaper.
  2. Badge of Honor:  It would be quite the accomplishment for me, just like breast-feeding.
  3. Environmental:  I know disposables leave quite an impact in the landfills considering the impact they leave in our home (BLAH).
  4. Potty Training:  I’ve also heard the urban myth that kids potty train faster.  Bean was potty trained pretty quick but no two babies are alike.  Mine are total opposites.
  5. Looks:  Course, who can resist some of those covers…minky, ruffled, girlie prints.  Pinchable I tell you.

And on the otherside of the fence would be my thoughts on my cloth diapering may not be for me:

  1. Accidents:  Are these things really potty proof in most cases?  Course disposables are not but they are not cloth.  Will my lap get wet?
  2. Smell:  What do you do with the diapers after use?  Will I be watching loads of diapers each day?  Hamper separation?  I’m OCD so this should be number one.
  3. Convenience:  How convenient are cloth diapers really?
  4. Nighttime:  Baby Bird will saturate a 12 hour diaper so what sort of damage will she do to cloth?
  5. Confusion:  I really don’t even know where to start on this one.  There are so many options.

So I do know some lingo when it comes to cloth diapering:

  • pre-folds
  • all-in-ones (AIO)
  • covers
  • doublers
  • soakers
  • pockets

FYI:  anyone have advice, tips, product advice, etc.  I’d love to hear from you.  Help me inform those other cloth diaper dummies. 

Speaking of diapers, I’m running low so it’s off to Target.  I guess that’s a neither a pro or con for either type of diapering because the inevitable will happen and you will be out.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. yoginit permalink
    January 20, 2010 5:54 pm

    Hey Kay,

    I agree with some of the drawbacks of cloth Diapering, they are sometimes a pain. In the long run though, I started using cloth when Daniel was about 4 months old, and love it. Sure it’s messy, but I have found that he has had just as many major blowouts in cloth as he did in disposables(which haven’t been all that bad) Daniel is a very heavy wetter though, I would never put him in a regular prefold overnight, but I happen to like bumgenius all in ones, we had no problem with leakage overnight.

    Tiffany

  2. Katie permalink
    January 26, 2010 3:43 pm

    Hey, I like this post!

    So, you know we made the switch right? We love them! We use a doubler at night to help with leakage. Linus does just fine. We flush the poop. You can get a poop sprayer to help get it off the diaper. We use a wet bag to keep the diapers in and do laundry every 2.5 -3 days. Use natural detergent! (It actually works.) We also use cloth wipes! We did have an initial cost, but now we are free of that expense! It is very freeing.

    Katie

    Oh, Park and Vine downtown has a class the 1st Sunday of each month about cloth diapering.

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      January 28, 2010 11:40 am

      I read on Facebook that you were headed that way. Who would have thought I’d ever be a breastfeeding, baby wearing, possible cloth diaperer? The hubby keeps telling me to whip out the Birkenstocks (which sadly I still have a pair).

      I’ve heard that you can flush the poo but I’m not quite sure she’s in the flicking stage yet. Is a wet bag just that, a bag or is it like a wool soaker but larger. I’ve already heard about soakers and how wicked wool is absorbant and non-stinky.

      Baby Bird is such a heavy pee-er (is that a word?) but I at least think I might give it a go. I didn’t know that Park and Vine had a class. That might give us a bit more info and maybe make the hubby more comfortable with the idea.

      Now is Linus in them all day or do you sometimes still use the G-diapers?

  3. Katie permalink
    January 28, 2010 4:04 pm

    Linus is in them all day. We use the little gpants and liners, but use cloth in them.

    A wet bag is a bag that you keep the dirty diapers in. One can use a pail, but the kind I use is lined. It has a zipper, that we don’t need to use. OK, so we flush the poo. Linus’ are still pretty soft, we use a spatula to help get it in the toilet and then clean the spatula with the bowl scrubber. I keep then right by the toilet out of Linus’ reach. My husband is in the process of putting a poop sprayer on the toilet to help. Google that…basically like a sink sprayer. The dirty/wet diapers will stay for 2-3 days in the wet bag unzipped and DO NOT SMELL!!! I have noticed, like my diaper bag wet bag, if I zip it, the ammonia build up is gross. That is why we don’t zip the big one. Since we are already doing the laundry we decided to go to cloth wipes. They work wonders! We just use water. They are a great money saver. They just go right in to the wet bag.

    So you for sure want to flush the poo, you don’t want that in your washer. My cloths are super absorbent. I was really surprised. We are so glad we made the switch. Take the class, you will be surprised at how easy it is.

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      January 29, 2010 12:05 am

      Oh Katie…I was so laughing when I read that you use a spatula. Make sense but was still funny. I guess the ammonia smell from the zipped wet bag can’t be much worse than the trash can after our heavy pee-er.

      Thanks for all the advice. For sure we are going to do this class here in a few weeks. I’m just hoping it warms up before we go walking downtown because you know I just can’t go to the store and home when we never get a chance to make it down there.

      Do you or the hubby ski?

  4. Katie permalink
    January 29, 2010 2:50 pm

    I know, the spatula was the idea of the “teacher” of the cloth diapering class. It works, I tell ya.

    Every once in a while we get a good one that can just be tossed in the toilet, but like once every few days.

    Eric skis, but I don’t. I did see your post about skiing, but he has been traveling so much, I would KILL him if he went. I know you understand.

    Good luck and if you have any other questions let me know.

    • Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
      January 29, 2010 5:08 pm

      I hear you on the traveling. I was blessed with the hubby’s presence today because he had a meeting with the new company. He’s all for cloth diapering so we will see if the class scares him. He got a kick out of the spatula though. Enjoy Eric while he’s home. Enjoy the weekend.

Leave a Reply

