Skip to content

Meal Plan Mondays

October 5, 2009

Meal Plan Mondays_small

This week, I only spent $60.11 at the grocery for 2 weeks of groceries.  Those who are not super thrifty shoppers would appreciate this feat.  It was also my big shop for the cassarole and my freezer meat refill.  I have to throw in there that $5.49 of it was for toilet paper.  I wasn’t prepared to by it and did not have a coupon.  The hubby called me to tell me that they are out; would be nice if they used the paper I have on the fridge for needed items.

My shopping trip bill includes lunches for 2 weeks for Bean (4 lunchables & 4 sandwiches; she buys 1 day a week on pizza day) and our snacks.  I was doing so well on my spending that I also did a bit of stocking up on frozen goods like french bread pizzas, pizza rolls, etc for weekends that aren’t planned out as much.  I do go back in the middle of both weeks to purchase fresh fruits, milk, and any other necessities. 

I set asside $120 cash for 2 weeks of groceries.  If it’s gone before the 2 weeks, we eat from the freezer (unless it’s a necessity like TP, milk, or something random like that).  It’s sort of a game for me to see how much extra I have left.  I then put it asside for my secret spending on the hubby’s birthday and Christmas gifts and things like that.  I consider it away I contribute to the family since I am no longer running my business and am exclusively a SAHM.

As promised, if you care to follow, my meal plan for the week:

  • (Italian) Monday:  Lasagna Hamberger Helper (1 pound ground beef, 1 box of Hamburger Helper, 1 box of 8 garlic bread slices)  A family of 3 table food eaters has enough left over for the hubby to have lunch tomorrow and 4 slices of garlic bread to eat next Monday.
  • (Mexican) Tuesday:  Chicken Quesidillas (1 pound chicken, 1 pack of 12 large tortillas, 1 jar of salsa, 1 tub of sour cream, 1 bag of shredded cheese, 1 jar of applesauce)  This meal doesn’t offer leftovers per say, but we don’t use all of the salsa, sour cream, cheese, or applesauce.  So, these are leftover for use at other meals during the week or next week.
  • (Picnic) Wednesday:  Hot Dogs on the Grill (weather permitting) (5-6 hot dogs, 5-6 hotdog buns, 1 can of green beans, 1 jar of applesauce)  We typically go through 2 jars of applesauce a week.
  • (Casserole) Thursday:  Pizza casserole (1 bag of large noodles, 1 bag of pepperoni, 1 pound of sausage, 1 jar of pizza sauce, 1 bag of mozzarella cheese, garlic bread,  applesauce)  These casseroles leave enough to freeze for a second meal.   On this recipe, I always make a double batch, which leaves for 2-3 additional meals in the freezer, divided for our family portion + a little extra for the hubby’s meal.  And…see the garlic bread extras coming to use now.  Recipe to follow.
  • (Brinner) Friday:  Pancakes (1 box of pancake mix, 1 bottle of syrup, 1 small basket of blueberries, 1 can of peaches)  You guessed it, breakfast for dinner.  Obviously, we don’t eat an entire box of pancakes for dinner.  This box and syrup lasts 2 months because we only have pancake brinner 1-2 times a month.

TIPS: 

  • I am not ashamed to say that I am a lover of the freezer, even for my bread and buns.  It allows me to run up to the Hostess shop and stock up if the deals are good.  The family likes that because I pick up some goodies too.  When making burgers or hot dogs, I only take out what I need out of the bag.
  • I say it time and time again, preparation is the key.  Sundays are for browning meat and cooking/cutting chicken.  It seriously saves me 15-30 minutes a meal and it allows my hubby to make meals without complaining.
  • I typically try to have leftovers from meals.  I hate leftovers but my hubby doesn’t mind eating them.  This way he doesn’t spend so much at lunch.  But, he often forgets them in the fridge so sometimes we move away from the meal plan during the week so he and Bean can eat up the leftovers.

In the beginning of this post, I’m pretty open to what we budget for food.  I’m not shy about sharing that because I think it helps to see someone else’s perspective.  We used to spend HUNDREDS of dollars a month before I started this meal plan and coupons.  It’s a huge savings.  But, it was hard to really gauge what we should set our budget at.  It took a few weeks to find out what works for us.  We are really sticking to this because my hubby the scientist is anal retentive about having our houses paid off by 55.  He’s freaked out with the economy and wants to not rely on our financial investments and more on our real estate.  Any Who…hopefully from one saver to another (or potential) saver. 

Bon Appetit!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

