Skip to content

Casserole Thursdays…

October 1, 2009

Cassarole Thursdays_small

One of my most favorite casseroles to eat is Chicken and Rice Casserole.  My mother-in-law whipped these up for us this past year when I was on bedrest.  Now that I’m up and about, I suppose it’s pretty rude to have her still cooking for us.  A couple months back, she jotted the recipe down for me.  It can not be any easier.  It’s one of those great meals that can feed my family of 3 for 2 meals with some leftovers for the hubbies lunch.

Chicken & Rice Casserole:

  • 6 chicken breasts
  • 2 cans of a cream soup
  • 2 cup of uncooked rice
  • 1 large bag of Pepperidge Farm Dressing
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1 can of milk
  1. Boil the chicken for 1/2 hour.  Let it cool.  Cut up or chop in a food processor.
  2. Cook the  rice.  1 cup of water for 1 cup of rice
  3. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  4. Combine the soup, milk, and chicken.
  5. Spread the rice in the bottom of a 13 x 9 pan.
  6. Spread the chicken mix over the rice.
  7. Melt the butter; add it to the bag of dressing.  Add water a teaspoon at time until the dressing is moist.
  8. Spread the dressing over the top of the chicken mix.
  9. Bake for 30 minutes and enjoy!

TIPS:

  • I like to add 1 can of cream of chicken soup and 1 can of broccoli and cheese for a bit of variety
  • FYI:  1 stick of butter equals 1/2 cup of butter for those, like me, that do not purchase sticks of butter.
  • I do not keep adding a teaspoon of water at a time to the dressing.  It would take forever.  I sort of run it under the water for a second or so, mix, and repeat if needed.
  • Try adding a 1/2 can of corn or french cut green beans.
  • We freeze 1/2 of the casserole for an additional meal.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2009 9:56 pm

    Wow.. this DOES seem like an easy meal! And tasty too! I think I will am going to have to try it.

    Your blog is super sweet… you are a great writer!

    Blessings-
    Amanda

  2. Tickled Pink Twice permalink*
    October 3, 2009 10:23 pm

    It is an easy meal and SUPER tasty. I like it because I can freeze and reheat it. It’s just as good as a re-heat meal. I don’t know about you but meal time can be hectic in our home with a school age child and an infant. I’m all for easy.

    Thanks for the compliment on writing. I think I’m sort of scatter brained when I write…

Leave a Reply

