Skip to content

Quick & Easy…That’s How We Like It!

September 20, 2009

I don’t know about you, but it seems like everyone I know is either pregnant or just had a baby.  I am constantly at baby showers or visiting new mommies at the hospital.  With all the parties and visits, I really get sick of the standard baby gifts.  Plus, with the wild economy, it really does get expensive and we try to stick to a budget.  How about some “do it ourselves” projects? 

What is one thing all parents could use?  About a BAGILLION burp cloths.  This sounds stupid, but when I make these, I just hate to give them away because they are SO cute.  But I must.  Check out the Cloth Diaper Burp Cloth Tutorial over at my sewing and craft blog:  Sew, What’s Next?

Let’s do a quick cost calculation so you can see just how economical they are:

  • Gerber 6 ply cloth diapers (12 count):  $15.00
  • 1 yard of cute fabric or 2 half yards of cute fabric:  $6.99 or $4.19 at Hobby Lobby w/ 40% off coupon
  • coordinating ribbon to tie off gift or to trim diapers:  $3.99 a spool or $2.39 at Hobby Lobby w/ 40% off coupon

That’s $21.58 for 12 custom burp cloths.  I like to either give them in 2 or 3 at a time.  So (wheels are turning), it’s $3.60 or $5.39 for a gift made by you.  These are the best type of gifts to receive in my book.  Of course, I can’t just stop there, so I often make a coordinating bib, blanket, applique onesie, and Lil’ Leggies (Baby Legs).  Don’t worry, I’ll let you know the low down on those items soon.  Stay tuned!

With that said, there are some amazing and adorable options over at Etsy.  These are sort of labor intensive if you consider the prep-work that goes into making these.  The costs can also go up if you embellish, embroider, or use more designer fabrics. 

Enjoy the tutorial; more to come for us DIO (Do It Ourselves) girls.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

